The first ever Pride of Essex Sports Awards took place in a star-studded event.

The ceremony commemorated the best achievements in sport from across the county which was held at Chigwell Hall on Thursday, May 2.

The evening was hosted by Sky Sports presenter Bianca Westwood and was attended by footballers Joe Cole, Frank Lampard, Essex cricket legend Ronnie Irani and Paralympian Anne Wafula-Strike.

Barry Hearn, owner of Matchroom Sport and former Leyton Orient FC chairman was presented with ‘The Bobby Moore Lifetime Achievement Award’ by Stephanie Moore MBE.

“No one else deserves this award more than Barry, he has made a major impact on the world of sport and I am honoured to present the award to him tonight.” said Ms Moore.

Nine-year-old Palmer Parish, from Waltham Abbey, was shortlisted for Professional Young Sports Person award but lost out to 15-year-old gymnast champion Danny Crouch from Rayleigh.

Earlier this year, Parish won the Under 12 Slopestyle and Freestyle BRITS Championships at Big Air in Laax, Switzerland.

The ‘Community Sports Personality of the Year’ award was given to young footballer Katie O’Hanlon, from Loughton,

Miss O’ Hanlon made her England debut this year and has just signed with Chelsea Ladies FC.

Other awards at this sporting celebration included ‘The Disability Sports Award’ which had two winners.

Under 20’s F35 athlete, winner of two gold medals at the Cerebal Palsy games in Spain, Conor O’Hare and Alan Prentice head coach at Epping Forest Sportability Club.

Judge Daily Mail chief sports writer Martin Samuel said: “These awards highlight the outstanding achievements of individuals and recognises the important work carried out by sporting organisations in Essex, I am very proud to be a part of it.”

The winners in full are:

Professional Young Sports Person – Danny Crouch

Professional Sports Personality – Justin Edinburgh

Disability Sports Award – Conor O’Hare and Alan Prentice

Grassroots Club of the Year – Basildon and Phoenix Swimming Club

Unsung Sporting Hero – Dave Roberts

Grassroots Coach of the Year – Ian Arbon

School of the Year PE Award – The Coopers’ Company and Coborn School

Community Sports Personality of the Year – Katie O’Hanlon

Special Recognition Award – The Tottenham Hotspurs Legends Team

The Bobby Moore Lifetime Achievement Award – Barry Hearn

Chief Executive of Essex FA Brendan Walshe commented “We are very pleased to support this event in particular the foundation attached which will create so many opportunities for young people in our community.”

Nominations and tickets for next years Pride of Essex Sports Awards will be open again in January 2020.

To nominate your Essex sporting hero, visit:

See more photos on Instagram @Theprideofessexsportsawards