The new chairman and vice-chairman for Buckhurst Hill Parish Council have been officially elected.

Cllr Smruti Patel was chosen to become chairman of Buckhurst whilst Cllr Glenys Reynolds will be vice-chairman for the 2019-20 council year.

Mrs Patel received the chain of office from outgoing chairman Cllr Neville Wright at the annual council meeting on Thursday, May 30.

The new chairman offered a "huge thank you" to Mr Wright "for all his leadership over last three years".

Mrs Patel is yet to decide on her charity for the year and is seeking suggestions from fellow councillors.

Committee chairmen elected for the 2019-20 council year were:

Finance and establishment committee: Glenys Reynolds

Planning and environment committee: Ken Williamson

Accommodation committee: Bobby Nagpal

Recreation and community committee: Neville Wright

Personnel committee: Smruti Patel