A network of flaming tributes to the Queen will stretch throughout the country on Thursday, here are the ones on your doorstep in Essex.

Beacons marking the Platinum Jubilee will be lit at 9.45 pm sites including the Tower of London, Windsor Great Park, Hillsborough Castle and the Queen’s estates of Sandringham and Balmoral, along with the tops of the UK’s four highest peaks.

The first beacons will be lit in Tonga and Samoa in the South Pacific, and the final one in the central American country of Belize.

The principal beacon outside the Palace – a 21-metre-tall Tree of Trees sculpture for the Queen’s Green Canopy initiative – will be illuminated by a senior member of the royal family, and images will be projected on to the Palace.

UK Bank Holidays to look forward to in 2022

The history of jubilee beacons

Lighting beacons to celebrate Royal Jubilees, Weddings and Coronations is a long-held tradition.

The flaming displays might appear on top of mountains, church and cathedral towers, castle battlements, on town and village greens, country estates, parks and farms, along beaches and on cliff tops.

READ MORE: Aldi launches Queen's Platinum Jubilee glitter gin that is good enough for Royalty

READ MORE: Queen's Platinum Jubilee: Buyagift unveils 7 Royal experiences to mark the big day

In 1897, beacons were lit to celebrate Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee. In 1977, 2002 and 2012, beacons commemorated the Silver, Golden and Diamond Jubilees of The Queen, and in 2016 Her Majesty’s 90th birthday.

On Thursday, there are four types of beacons being lit:

  • A free-standing beacon fuelled by bottle gas
  • A beacon brazier with a metal shield
  • A bonfire beacon
  • Bishops Frome Strawman

Platinum Jubilee beacons in Essex

Epping Forest Guardian: Lewis Wilde tests of one of the gas-fuelled beacons he has made which will be used to signal the start of Queen Elizabeth II's Platinum Jubilee. Picture: PALewis Wilde tests of one of the gas-fuelled beacons he has made which will be used to signal the start of Queen Elizabeth II's Platinum Jubilee. Picture: PA

  • Bulphan Recreation Ground
  • Alphamstone & Lamarsh Parish Council – Shrubs Farm, Lamarsh
  • Heybridge Parish Council – Plantation Hall, Heybridge, Maldon
  • Theydon Bois Parish Council - Theydon Bois Village Green, Theydon
  • Rayne Community Group – The Swan Public House, Rayne
  • West Mersea Town Council – Victoria Esplanade, West Mersea, Colchester
  • Stapleford Abbotts Parish Council – St Mary's Church, Stapleford Abbotts
  • Great Waltham Parish Council, Great Waltham
  • Great Canfield Parish Council – Great Canfield Cricket Ground, Great Canfield
  • High Easter Parish Council – High Easter Playing Fields, High Easter
  • Purfleet-on-Thames Community Forum, Thurrock Council – The Green, west side of the Royal Hotel, Purfleet-on-Thames
  • Stanway Parish Council – Silver Witch Green, Stanway. Billericay Town Council – Sun Corner, Billericay
  • Colchester Borough Council – Castle Park, Colchester
  • Wickham St Paul Parish Council – Village Green, Wickham St Paul, Halstead
  • Great Tey Parish Council and Village Committee – Old Playing Field, Great Tey, Colchester
  • Rettendon Common, Rettendon, Chelmsford
  • Bradfield Parish Council - Bradfield Recreation Ground, Bradfield
  • Little Canfield Parish Council, Dunmow
  • Loughton Town Council, Hillyfields Open Space, Loughton
  • Bulphan Village Community Forum – Bulphan Recreation Ground, Bulphan
  • Wateringbury Scout Group – Thriftwood Scout Campsite, Brentwood
  • Stock Parish Council – The Common, Stock, Ingatestone
  • Southend-on-Sea Borough Council - Clifftown Parade, Southend. Fox & Hounds – Ramsden Heath
  • Little Waltham & Broomfield Parishes – Channels Park
  • Shalford Village Hall Management Committee – Shalford Village Hall – Shalford
  • Southminster Parish Council – King George V Memorial Field, Southminster
  • Heybridge Basin Parish Council, Heybridge. Wincham Parish Council – Linnards Lane Playing Field, Wincham
  • Boreham Parish Council – Recreation Ground, Boreham
  • The Swan Inn – Horndon-on-the-Hill
  • Manuden Parish Council – Manuden
  • Little Maplestead Parish – The Playing Field, Little Maplestead, Halstead
  • Newport Parish Council – Newport Recreation Ground, Newport
  • Navestock Parish Council & Navestock Village Society – The Village Hall, Navestock Side, Navestock, Brentwood
  • WELCOM Forum – Coalhouse Fort, East Tilbury
  • Herongate & Ingrave Parish Council – Ingrave Common and Cricket Ground – Herongate
  • Rochford Parish Council – Rochford Reservior, Rochford
  • Felsted Parish Council – The Playing Field, Felsted
  • Amberden Hall Farm, Widdington
  • Lindsell Village – Lindsell Cricket Ground, Lindsell. Langley Parish Council – Kangels Field, Langley, Saffron Waldon
  • Thaxted Fayre Trust – John Webb's Windmill, Thaxted, Dunmow
  • Bell Field – Upper Bell Field, Rettendon Common. Rochford District Council – Bellingham Lane, Rayleigh
  • Stanbourne Parish Council – Stambourne Playing Field, Stambourne
  • Birdbrook Village, Birdbrook. Elmstead Parish Council – Elmstean North Green, Elmstead
  • West Bergholt Parish Council – Orpen Memorial Hall, West Bergholt
  • Stansted Mountfitchet Parish Council, Stansted, Mountfitchet. Village of Widdington – Amberden Hall Farm, Widdington.
  • Blackmore Village Fayre Committee, Blackmore, Hook End and Wyatts Green Parish Council – The Green, Blackmore, Ingatestone
  • Noak Bridge Parish Council – Wash Road Open Space, Noak Bridge, Basildon
  • West Horndon Parish Council – West Horndon. Canvey Island NCI Unit – Canvey Island
  • Channels Residents Community Group. Gilston & Eastwick Churches & Parish Council, Gilston, Harlow
  • St Osyth Parish Council – Cowley Recreation Ground, St Osyth
  • St Lawrence Parish Council – St Lawrence Hill, St Lawrence